Recent content by DVDdoug

1. DVDdoug

Has Anyone Tried an 'Audiophile' DAC/Amp with a DAW?

I'm not really an expert but I understand a little about it. It's usually related to multitasking and interrupts. Your operating system is always multitasking & interrupting, even if you're only running one application and that's why you need buffers. Usually that's buffer underflow (DAC) or...
  2. DVDdoug

MacBook's High Impedance DAC is different in the EU version?

The EU has some loudness limits but I don't know how it's supposed to work since different headphones & in-ears have different sensitivity. And I don't know if the EU version is different and if it is, I don't know if it's a hardware or software difference.
  3. DVDdoug

Advise about DAC

I don't know, but I don't buy "cheap-unknown" stuff off of Aliexpress or eBay, etc... Are you connecting to something that doesn't already have an analog output? Or something with an inadequate built-in DAC? The Apple "dongle"" got a good review. It's cheap and it may be available locally...
  4. DVDdoug

Thoughts on cargo netting to attach speaker to ceiling?

I don't see any problems with it. It should give you some isolation from the ceiling/neighbors (compared to solidly mounting it to the ceiling) but usually the walls/floors/ceiling are vibrated more by the soundwaves in the room, and the soundwaves pass-through the walls, more than any...
  5. DVDdoug

Budget speakers to bring new life to old system?

Right! With home theater, a subwoofer is required for the "point one" LFE channel and most people don't want 5 or more full-size surround speakers. If you have a local audio video store it's probably worth listening to some speakers before you buy, even if you don't buy form that store or...
  6. DVDdoug

Embarking on my first full-blown ground up build