• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Introductions anyone?

Phelonious Ponk

Addicted to Fun and Learning
I know some of you. Maybe most, with a few posting here under different handles. So maybe it's time, in the immortal words of David Crosby, to "tell 'em who we are, man."

I'm Tim Farney, Phelonious Ponk, and I'm not here because I'm an engineer, but because you guys always had the most interesting posts on WBF. Why am I an "objectivist?" Two reasons -- 1) I've been a musician since I was a kid. I've lived up to my ears in sound -- home audio, headphone systems, studio audio, live audio -- and I've always preferred accurate over euphonic. That started when I traded my Altec Lansing Valencias and Kenwood integrated amp for a pair of large Advents and a Harmon Kardon and continues to me recent choice of small, powerful active PA speakers from QSC over bigger and more impressive-looking at nearly half the price. Better measurements and better sound just always seemed to go together in my ears. 2) If y'all talk real slow, I read everything twice then follow up with research, I might actually learn something. :)

Tim

amirm

Founder/Admin
Staff Member
CFO (Chief Fun Officer)
Thanks for creating the thread Tim. It is a great idea for people who choose to participate. Here is my story.