• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Double Blind tests *did* show amplifiers to sound different

TREVANIAN

Total noob here, but if I assume all amps sound the same given same level etc, then what drives the amp designers to continue. Do they know, or have they convinced themselves that amps sound different. I guess one can also assume some amp designers are money hungry and don't care, but what about the genuine ones that are striving to make better amps, why would they if they did sound the same? I have zero background and very little experience with expensive hifi amps but I don't see why they would sound the same. Just wondering thats all.

SIY

Grand Contributor
Technical Expert
Total noob here, but if I assume all amps sound the same given same level etc, then what drives the amp designers to continue. Do they know, or have they convinced themselves that amps sound different. I guess one can also assume some amp designers are money hungry and don't care, but what about the genuine ones that are striving to make better amps, why would they if they did sound the same? I have zero background and very little experience with expensive hifi amps but I don't see why they would sound the same. Just wondering thats all.
Size, efficiency, price point, features, and of course, power. In some cases, the challenge of taking distortion and noise down to the atomic level, which of course is irrelevant to audibility.

Just because a problem is solved does not remove commercial incentives.

MakeMineVinyl

Major Contributor
Hmmm, so are we worshiping you, or cursing you?!?:D
I think you posted this in the wrong thread....