Recent content by Old Grey Punk

1. Old Grey Punk

Can anyone explain the vinyl renaissance?

LPs give a sense of permanence in an increasingly impermanent and intangible digital world. I'll admit I get a feeling of satisfaction, and even calm, from just sitting looking at my 1500 LPs all stacked neatly on their shelves. And since I've been buying those LPs since the late '70s, there's...
  2. Old Grey Punk

Can anyone explain the vinyl renaissance?

At it's basic level you may be right, but I think what you're not taking into account is this, and I'll use my own experience as an example: I've been listening to vinyl since the late 1970s, and for decades vinyl playback consisted of chucking records onto any old crappy turntable through cheap...
  3. Old Grey Punk

Extreme Snake Oil

This one made me spit out my morning coffee laughing: https://www.thecableco.com/rci-3h-cable-insulator-single.html Not hugely expensive I know, but this caught my eye: "inside the insulator is a blend of natural ores which absorb electromagnetic waves and radiated noise from the cable...
  4. Old Grey Punk

What electronic audio products you want tested most

This (relatively) low cost phono stage seems interesting, employing some what appear to be clever approaches to phono stage design, especially at this price point: https://michaelfidler.com/spartan/5/
  5. Old Grey Punk

Stanford University audio reference selection vinyl player

I'm not sure I understand the debate here. Stanford University wanted to invest in the most effective mechanism to digitise records which contain valuable and / or historic recordings, and it turns out the best method for doing this is to use (what is in their opinion) the most precise high...
  6. Old Grey Punk

Which cartridge do you prefer?