Recent content by Robin L

1. Robin L

How About Creating a Modern Cassette Player?

I was a recording engineer for about a decade in the 1990s, exclusively recording classical repertoire. It wasn't until very recently that I was satisfied with the sound of my playback gear, which now is only from digital sources. There's a clarity and focus I'm experiencing that I wasn't...
  2. Robin L

I was charge of the Classical cassette section of Tower records, Berkeley, in the mid-eighties. Very few classical cassettes were up to the standards of LPs at the time, and the quality of LPs in the mid-eighties was nothing to write home about. There were only a few runs of commercial cassettes...
  3. Robin L

That's why I still collect CDs.
  4. Robin L

Like I said, I don't stream. The primary reason I don't stream is because of that problem with dropouts. Don't know about that. Once 78s were no longer a "thing", support from the record companies evaporated. Cassettes were popular for a brief spell before CDs appeared, then they were not. As...
  5. Robin L

Streaming might not make sense to you, it doesn't work for me, but just about everyone I know uses streaming. My wife has an old IPod in the car with MP3 files that I occasionally add files to, but she mostly she streams video at home. If I want to hear music at home, I've got a pile of CDs that...
  6. Robin L

In the age of streaming, recording makes little sense unless one is recording performances of one's group or of a group for someone else. Otherwise, streaming makes more sense.
  7. Robin L

First dac. Help me to choose.

I like my Topping E30. It's been upgraded to E30 II. https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/topping-e30-ii-dac-review.36028/ It sells for $149, has three inputs - USB, coax and optical Toslink. It measures better than anyone can hear. My Topping E30 has an easy-to-use...
  8. Robin L