Search results

1. oivavoi

What is wrong with the HD800S? Needs EQ? Some Say Yes Others No

Never tried to eq them, because I don't see a need. Best headphones I've tried by a mile and then some. But headphones are to a certain degree personal, more than speakers, so basically only your ears can decide.
  2. oivavoi

Not trying to be arrogant here, but who listens to this?

Fully agree. I have myself been involved in commissioning several works from contemporary composers, as I've been singing in various semi-professional choirs for the last 15 years. I don't mean that all music needs to make its way to the top lists on Spotify. That would create a very boring and...
  3. oivavoi

I think this is key. Im generally in favor of public support of art and music, and don't want market forces to dictate everything. At the same time I do think that some forms of public support for art and music have ossified some forms of music that nobody would listen to or care about unless it...
  4. oivavoi

Wonderful story! My story with jazz is somewhat similar but much less dramatic. I starten to listen to jazz in my teens. Have loved it ever since. But if I'm to be honest with myself, my love affair with jazz probably started because I was attracted to everything jazz represented to me, more...
  5. oivavoi

Interesting thread with many good comments already! Regarding the OP's question, yes lots of people listen very attentively to Messiaen, and similar kinds of music. I've been doing it myself for many years, even though this particular piece from Messiaen is not my favorite. Why? Several...
  6. oivavoi

Peer review...a bad thing....a failure....a waste of time.........

I'm a tenured social scientist at a university, and I agree with almost everything in this article. This is not the first time such criticism has been voiced, there have been many criticisms of the peer review system in recent years. Here's a longer and more detailed scholarly exposition of why...
  7. oivavoi