• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Active bookshelf/desktop speaker/monitor speaker recommendations needed, please…

Clay49

Hi folks! Brand new to the forum today. Looking forward to engaging with this community in the days ahead on all things audio!

My background: I am a professional musician, with both undergraduate and master degrees in music (in the areas of classical guitar, vocal performance, choral conducting and composition), and it has been my life’s work (in the realm of church music) creating and producing musical experiences and landscapes, including about a dozen CDs over the last 3-decades (some choir and symphony orchestra, some contemporary worship with band and a handful of singers).

As a part of those projects, we would always take them to MasterMix (in Nashville) for the mastering process and I had the privilege of sitting in Hank Williams (no, not “Jr”) studio and marvel at his mastery with taking a raw mix and creating a 3-dimensional audio portrait that literally wraps around your head! Of course, that breathtaking sound was courtesy of a $650,000 wall of PMC monitors of various shapes and sizes.

All of that to say, I have been blessed to have heard music in a way that few will ever experience. And, unfortunately, my mind and ears won’t let me forget that! Knowing that I (realistically) can’t experience that in my personal studio, I’m looking for an “honorable mention” option for my desktop setup for listening to and working on music.

I need active speakers. I’m looking for musicality with clarity and definition; good soundstage and instrument separation; and balanced tonal spectrum (near flat) but not sterile and ear-wearying