• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Confusion on variable L-pad vs. potentiometer

Michael_in_Ohio

I've been looking at schematics of crossovers. Some of them have a knob for adjusting the attenuation going to the tweeter.

So here is where I am confused. On some schematics, it shows two potentiometers that are ganged together, and their wipers are connected together. But on some schematics it shows just one potentiometer.

Here's my question: are they equivalent? I studied them, and they seem to be equivalent to me. The drawing below describes what I am talking about.

Crossover.png

Here's another question: when you purchase an "L-pad attenuator" (such as one of these sold by Parts Express), is it simply a standard potentiometer as shown in B? Or does it contain two resistive elements and two wipers as shown in A?

Looneybomber

I’m not a potentiometer expert so there could be subtle differences between the actual components used in each diagram, but they function the same. For example, an iron core inductor has a different symbol than an air core inductor, but they both function the same.

In university I saw the simpler diagram on the right, but that doesn’t always indicate what is commonly used in the real world. For example, we used 1.5 ohm in university, but outside academia, I see 1R5 more commonly used.

OP
M

Michael_in_Ohio

Thanks!