• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Easy to install DAC.

chickenshack

I have a Naim system and want to stream Spotify into my pre-amp from my Macbook Air, but I don't fancy the idea of shelling out 6k for an NDX2. I am researching a suitable DAC to connect my computer via a USB cable. It would be great if it sounded as good as an NDX2, but that may be wishful thinking. The Mojo 2 seems to be well-regarded. I would like to know your thoughts, but please bear in mind, that I am not technically knowledgeable when it comes to setting up Hi-Fi gear.

ahofer

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
I have a Naim system and want to stream Spotify into my pre-amp from my Macbook Air, but I don't fancy the idea of shelling out 6k for an NDX2. I am researching a suitable DAC to connect my computer via a USB cable. It would be great if it sounded as good as an NDX2, but that may be wishful thinking. The Mojo 2 seems to be well-regarded. I would like to know your thoughts, but please bear in mind, that I am not technically knowledgeable when it comes to setting up Hi-Fi gear.
The good news is you can get a fully transparent DAC for A few hundred bucks. Such as this one for $128:

Note the graph in the review. Anything in the "excellent range" (and probably down through the 'very good' range) should be completely audibly transparent. Choose on features, price, looks, whatever floats your boat. DACs are a solved problem. Save your money for speakers, EQ, room improvement, and music.

index.php

Last edited:

voodooless

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
The good news is you can get a fully transparent DAC for A few hundred bucks. Such as this one for $128:

Hold by beer...

There $80, and done!

VintageFlanker

Master Contributor