• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Listening distance new speakers: Dynaudio home/pro audio vs Adam pro

soundwave

Hi everyone. First of all sorry for my English, I'm not a native speaker. Regarding the level of my technical knowledge I'm a total noob. Therefor I seek assistance.

I would like to buy a new stereo system for the living room in my new house. I have always had passive speakers in the past. But recently I bought a pair of JBL LSR305 speakers for my computer room and I'm quite happy with them. They sound really good. Therefor I also want my new speakers to be active ones.

Unfortunately there are not that many hifi speaker companies who produces active speakers. That's why I'm also looking at the pro speaker manufacturers. I have had many Dynaudio speakers in the past which I liked. I also like the sound of the Adam speakers from a friend of mine. Therefor I have narrowed down my choises for the following options:

- Dynaudio Lyd48 + Dynaudio 18S - 3 way monitor + subwoofer
- Dynaudio Focus 400 XD - 2,5 way system
- Adam Audio S3V - 3 way system
- Adam Audio S2V + Adam Audio sub12 - 2 way monitor + subwoofer

A dissadvantage of the studio monitors is that they require stands, which cost extra money. My main concern however is that Lyd48 and Adam S2V are recommended for near field listening. The listening position for me will be a maximum of 3,5 - 4 meters away from the speakers. Not exactly nearfield.... Is it still a wise decision to use either of these speakers speakers for my living room? What will happen if you use a near field monitor not for near field listening?