• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Looking for advice with digital organ audio

njsmk

Hi, first-time poster and audio beginner here. I have a slightly unusual requirement that I have been researching for awhile and am looking for some expert input into. Thanks in advance for any assistance, I appreciate the generosity of any time and effort taken to respond.

As background, I am a musician currently building a digital organ at home. It uses Hauptwerk software to play real organ samples using midi key and pedal boards. These sample sets are generally made up of 3 stereo sets - one recorded up close to the pipes, a middle distance that captures both direct sound and acoustic, and a rear set that captures primarily the acoustic. A typical audio setup will include at least 6 channels - two or more nearfield monitors to handle the close up perspective and a stereo pair (of whatever) for each of the more diffuse perspectives. Generally there is a sub in there as most larger organs sound down to 16Hz. Hauptwerk includes a pretty full-featured mixer for controlling output and routing.

I've invested a fair bit into building the instrument, so I am limiting myself to the $3,000-$4,000 range to complete the initial audio system, with the ambition to improve components over the next few years.