• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

What volume level do you use for classical music? Loud or quiet? What are your opinions regarding relaxation and volume?

Doodski

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
I'm just getting into classical @ a late age and I'm a bit confused if it is better really loud or very quiet. I know many like it very subtle and others are head bangers. What is going on here for you peeps? How loud is it in concert usually and what should I expect from my headphone gear to make it like a real life concert? Is it normal to go really loud like I do for rock and pop music?
noisy-moments-1592563972-list-handheld-0.jpg

A-court-gathering-to-hear-music.webp

Mikig

With headphones I don't know!

If we speak about large orchestra, I fear that reproducing it well, is truly difficult. The impact, the dynamics, the size of the sound stage and the number of instruments in play make faithful reproduction an achievement.
To date, speaking of reproduction with speakers, I have never heard a piece of classical music in 2 channels really well enough to be able to say "like being there". Maybe better with 5 and more channels.
on the contrary, it is much easier to hear classical music well with small ensembles.

Mikig

However, the level would necessarily be strong with the orchestra and, depending on the mood, adequate with melody and small ensembles…

OP
Doodski

Doodski

Grand Contributor
Forum Donor
However, the level would necessarily be strong with the orchestra and, depending on the mood, adequate with melody and small ensembles…