• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Rega DAC-R DAC Review

Rate this DAC:

• 1. Poor (headless panther)

Votes: 242 72.2%
  • 2. Not terrible (postman panther)

Votes: 71 21.2%
  • 3. Fine (happy panther)

Votes: 12 3.6%
  • 4. Great (golfing panther)

Votes: 10 3.0%

• Total voters

DSJR

Major Contributor
The RX3 speakers were quite pleasant, neutral enough I think and not as 'sparkly' as the previous RS3 was. Larger models could almost 'shout' a bit, but I have limited experience and this was before my ears caved in...

AudioSceptic

Major Contributor
HiFi World had their favourites which could do no wrong even if the measurements suggested otherwise. Valve amps with hideous distortions and high output impedances were loved quite often - just use them with Tannoys or similar ;) They were amazed how 'nice' a Quad 909 was in a power amp group test (I suspect this is also way off the beam today, but I still rate that basic design and it was the first domestic Quyad amp that happily drove a four ohm load with out current limiting getting in the way...

Sure I'm upset that UK-cheap companies like Rega are seemingly still so insular as regards what's really going on out there, but it's a smaller world now I have to admit...
My impression was that Noel Keywood wanted to be more "objective" but realised that subjective reviews seemed to sell better.

Mart68

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
My impression was that Noel Keywood wanted to be more "objective" but realised that subjective reviews seemed to sell better.
his loudspeaker reviews were pretty objective but he's also an 'analogue purity' advocate, and he thinks valves have some magic, so I think what we got with his magazine was exactly what he intended.