• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

bigfanres

I’m a newbie, to digital, I admit it.

I’m confused on digital to digital output and if DA conversion occurs once, twice.

I’d like to stream (have a Pro + w the DAC), to my R26 R2R (which I feed to a Levinson preamp via XLR).

If I’m running Wiim via say Optical (24/192 vis WiFi), into Gustard, am I getting the R26 “final” conversion or is the signal. Ever converted? Related, am I introducing noise with the Wiim and I’m better off adding a LAN wifi adapter to tnt R26 and attempt to stream via iOS/Mac (or over DLNA). Or should I just have gotten the Wiim mini to act as a “better” streamer / UI then the R26?

TIA, and apologies if topic addressed previously as I saw similar but it was Closed recently.

Last edited:

MaxwellsEq

Major Contributor
A sketch might help! :)

If you take S/PDIF over optical or copper into the Gustard at e.g. 44 x 16, you won't have used the Wiim internal DAC.

staticV3

Master Contributor
If I’m running Wiim via say Optical (24/192 vis WiFi), into Gustard, am I getting the R26 “final” conversion or is the signal. Ever converted?
I'm not sure I understand your question.

If you do WiiM->Toslink->Gustard, then the WiiM's built-in DAC is bypassed and the Gustard receives digital audio untouched, at least if you disable EQ, downsampling, and volume control on the WiiM.

Related, am I introducing noise with the Wiim
No.

OP
B

bigfanres

A sketch might help! :)

If you take S/PDIF over optical or copper into the Gustard at e.g. 44 x 16, you won't have used the Wiim internal DAC.