• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Help Me Build My End Game System

StigErik

Forum Donor
My experience with Audyssey is that multipoint measurements resulted in worse results in all measurements points... Dirac might be better here, but I have limited experience with it.

Trdat

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Forum Donor
I did list the number of subs. I didn't mention the DSP because I didn't really need advice there. The Denon comes with Audyssey and I'll be purchasing Dirac Live Bass Control. I'm going to test both with music, movies, and games, and go with whichever one I think is best, perhaps with some measurements after. The reason I "thought about cables" is because... well, you kinda need them to get any sound at all! I wasn't asking about cables in a "recommend me some audiophile snake-oil" sense but in a "you know anything as good for cheaper" sense.

Anyway, I know how to use Audyssey and I'm getting two subs. I may end up getting three depending on the bass performance I get, but I didn't see a reason to jump to three or more without seeing how well two would do.

Treatment is a good mention. It's something I've been meaning to look into but don't really know where to start. I know there are some companies where you can give them your room/placement information and they can recommend what treatments to get, but I don't really know what fair prices are in this space compared to others in audio.