• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Need Monitor Advice for a Challenging Small Room

cutmix

Forum Donor
Hi everyone,

Long-time lurker here, finally making my first post! I’m a professional filmmaker specializing in video editing and sound mixing. I’ve been absorbing a wealth of information from this community and now find myself in need of some expert advice. Excited to join the conversation!

I'm in a bit of a predicament with my current setup. My Equator D5 monitors have developed a persistent pulsating hiss, prompting me to consider alternatives. My workspace is a small, untreated room (9.5 x 14.5 feet), which became even more cramped after I added large acoustic baffles last year. Unfortunately, room measurements via REW suggested that achieving a flat response was nearly impossible, so I removed the baffles and now primarily use Slate VSX headphones.

With these challenges, I'm questioning the value of investing heavily in new monitors. My budget is up to $1000 for a pair, but I'm torn between high-end options like Neumann KH80s with MA-1 calibration or even augmenting a pair of speakers with IK Multimedia’s new ARC system...or sticking with more affordable choices like JBL 305Ps, iLoud Micro Monitors, Kali LP-UNFs, or Adam T5Vs.

Given the limitations of my room, is it wise to invest in premium monitors, or should I opt for more modest, reliable options? I would greatly appreciate any insights or experiences from those who have navigated similar acoustic challenges.

Thanks for your advice!

OP
cutmix

cutmix

Forum Donor