• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

noob here, does anyone do measurements of pro audio speakers?

stagehanddan

I am always on a budget and I have had a nice experience with an Alto Professional Truemix 800 analog mixer doing sound in a small venue.

I would love to upgrade the speakers to JBL EON710s but they are expensive. The reason why I like them is that they are bi-amplified and have a built in parametric EQ so I can correct their in room response and that should give me good sound.

But I'm on a budget so with that good experience with Alto Professional, I'm looking at the Alto True Sound TS408 speakers. They have similar electronics to the JBLs but they cost half as much.

I'm looking at the 408s because I am more used to home Hi-Fi where woofers larger than 5.25" are usually hard to cross over to a 7/8-1" dome tweeter resulting in frequency response issues in the midrange. I don't really have any knowledge of compression drivers and horns so I don't know how much of a crossover issue there is with larger drivers but lots of PA speakers are 2-way designs with 15" woofers so I'm not sure if they sound bad or live sound just sounds worse than a studio record.

Compounding my lack of knowledge, I can't seem to find independently tested frequency response graphs on the TS408s (or anything else but I really haven't been looking for anything else).

I am also thinking of pairing them with Alto's new 15" subwoofer to fill in any bass that the TS408s might be lacking. Unfortunately these subs don't have a parametric EQ, just a few crossover frequency settings and a 0-90-180-270 phase switch.