• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

[Question/Recommends] - Microphone/Headphone Equipment

Exoriya

Before you read, please note; I am a complete noob at audio.

For a few days now I have been searching and watching reviews of many microphones and headphones. In about a year I plan on doing a big overhaul on my equipment / pc. Primarily when the new 15900k/5090 releases. It has been a few years since I had done any upgrades, I have a few questions and would perhaps like to hear any recommendations on the equipment I should have that will give me the best/optimal for headphone and microphone.

I currently have a Blue Yeti that is plugged directly into my computer. I've been looking at many other microphones and mainly looked at the Shure brand. However, I don't really podcast or do any music, but looking at the Shure SM7B I hear a lot of great reviews and such from it. While my budget would be around that price I'm just unsure if I should or look for something a bit more suitable for my needs. (I mainly just use discord). Just trying to get something that'll improve over the blue yeti, and I can have for years to come.

Along with upgrading my microphone, I stumbled upon some needing a XLR cable. I currently have only a Fulla Schiit 3? I have been using it on my Sennheiser HD599's. I'm unsure on if I even need a DAC/AMP for these headphones, but I've grown accustomed to using Shiit Fulla for my headphones. I plan on upgrading to the new Fulla E, although, any other recommendations are appreciated.