• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

Studio monitors that are loud and have a lot of bass for under 3500 Euro?

Chevron

Some background, I am a mix and mastering engineer with a nice 25 m2 studio, home to a Trinnov ST2 Pro and Genelec 8351B setup. Great, love it.

I am looking for a secondary set of monitors that MUST BE LOUD, client pleasers, have deep bass, lots of sub 35 Hz and are under 3500 Euros.

The 8351Bs do not have the SPL for this requirement.

Happy to forgo some accuracy in exchange for volume and extended low end. I have an EveTS112 sub so maybe can combine.

Considered Neumann KH150 and 310, Hedd Type 20, Adam A8H and all seem low on power.

My first post, and cheers!

DVDdoug

Major Contributor
Maybe a pair of "large" PA or "dance club" speakers? Maybe with a matching sub? And of course you can EQ if necessary.

These kind of speakers (including subwoofers) usually don't have super-deep bass. They are usually "tuned" to go down to around 40Hz. By doing that, they can get more efficiency for loud-strong bass you can feel in your body.

P.S.
IMO - "Loud sound" like this sounds better in a large space with natural reverberation... Pretty-much the opposite of most studios.* Loud music in a small space makes me feel claustrophobic, or something... Even not-so-loud music sounds better to me in a "music hall".

* You usually don't want reverb in a studio (at least on the mixing/monitoring "side of the glass") because you just want to to accurately hear the pure-direct recording.

Last edited:

Ellebob

Forum Donor