• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

5 Channel Amp Question

OrangePower

I'm looking at four 5 channel amps that are similar in price. They are the ATI at1825, the Anthem MCA 525 Gen 2, the Parasound A52+ and the Rotel RMB-1585. The ATI and the Anthem have two toroidal transformers and the Parasound and Rotel have one. Is having two toroidal transformers generally better than having one? It would seem it would be better but I'm no expert. Anybody here have the answer to this question? Appreciate your feedback.

amper42

Major Contributor
Forum Donor
I'm looking at four 5 channel amps that are similar in price. They are the ATI at1825, the Anthem MCA 525 Gen 2, the Parasound A52+ and the Rotel RMB-1585. The ATI and the Anthem have two toroidal transformers and the Parasound and Rotel have one. Is having two toroidal transformers generally better than having one? It would seem it would be better but I'm no expert. Anybody here have the answer to this question? Appreciate your feedback.

Including multiple toroidal transformers, as in the case of the ATI and Anthem 5 channel amplifiers can provide greater power reserves and added power efficiency compared to a single transformer. Having two toroidal transformers is generally considered better than having just one with a five channel audio amplifier design. Whether you need the extra power and efficiency is another question?

Matias

Master Contributor
Forum Donor
Or you can have multichannel amplifiers with no linear power supplies (and big toroidal transformers), and instead use smaller SMPS power supplies and higher power class D stages, with lower noise, distortion, weight, heat loss and price.

OP
O

OrangePower