• WANTED: Happy members who like to discuss audio and other topics related to our interest. Desire to learn and share knowledge of science required. There are many reviews of audio hardware and expert members to help answer your questions. Click here to have your audio equipment measured for free!

System upgrade

karimthedream

Dear All,

I am new to the crew and have a question for the expert people around here. I have a system that I consider quiet efficient and simple : an Onkyo 9010 plugged to a pair of Audiovector QR1. I stream my music with qobuz through a Chromcast audio.

I would like to stick to a simple 2.0 system even though I am using my speakers for tv and I am a bit deceived By this type of use.
The musical part is pretty good but it would probably benefit from an improvement in the mid section.
The bass extension is enough for my 22 square meters living room.
I am ok with an amp or a speaker change but I would remain around (under) 1500 euros for it.
I received suggestions about adding the mini-dsp Flex to the system but since I don't need the cross-over I am not sure about the noticeable effect of the DSP.

Anyhow, if you have suggestion to allow an efficient (price/quality)upgrade to such a simple system. I am all ears

KTD

notsodeadlizard

"The musical part is pretty good"

You yourself have answered your own question.
You have a very nice reasonable balanced system, you will not achieve anything radical.
You can improve the amplifier a little (it's not entirely clear why), you can replace the Chromecast audio with an external DAC (it's not clear why).
Or just keep listening to music.

alex-z

Addicted to Fun and Learning
Could you get much better speakers, and a much better amp? Yes.